JO ANNE TRIPLETT on Holiday art and gift giving in Louisville

That time of year to give local art

BY 

“Poor Thanksgiving. It gets so little lovin’ because it’s a slippery slope of consumerism the minute Halloween candy is half price. That said, local visual and performing art groups want in on that Christmas/Hanukkah/Festivus money too. Here’s a sampling of what’s happening during the holidays. Season’s greetings!” – Jo Anne (read the full article here: https://www.leoweekly.com/2018/11/local-art/ )

Highlights from the article – 

Holiday Open House at E&S Gallery on Dec. 7, eandsgallery.com

Martinis and Mistletoe at KMAC Museum on Dec. 6, kmacmuseum.org

Dec. 7 Republic Bank First Friday Hop, firstfridayhop.com

“Christmas on Historic South 4th” at CRAFT(s) Gallery and Mercantile on Dec. 7-30, craftslouisville.com

Winter Wonderland Ornament Show at Revelry Boutique Gallery on Dec. 7-Jan. 1, revelrygallery.com

Blow-Ho-Ho at Hyland Glass through Dec. 22, hylandglass.com

Christmas with the Kory Caudill Quintet, featuring Chester Thompson at the Kentucky Center on Dec. 15, kentuckycenter.org

The Flea Off Market 6th Annual Indoor Holiday Bazaar on Dec. 15-16, thefleaoffmarket.org

Umpteenth Annual $20 Art Show at Copper and Kings on Dec. 8, copperandkings.com

Safe Holiday Celebration at Flame Run ($5 donated from Blow-Your-Own-Ornament to YMCA Safe Place Services) on Dec. 8-9, flamerun.com

“The Brown-Forman  Nutcracker” at the Louisville Ballet on Dec. 8-23,
louisvilleballet.org

“RED and GREEN, An Electric Holiday Celebration” by the VOICES of Kentuckiana on Dec. 9, kentuckycenter.org

“Holiday Magic” by the Louisville Master Chorale and the Louisville Youth Orchestra on Dec. 9,
louisvillemasterchorale.org

“A Kentucky Christmas at the Frazier” at the Frazier History Museum through Dec. 22, fraziermuseum.org

“The Santaland Diaries” at Actors Theatre through Dec. 23, actorstheatre.org.

Fifth Third Bank’s “A Christmas Carol” at Actors Theatre through Dec. 23, actorstheatre.org

Blow-Your-Own at Flame Run through Jan. 1, flamerun.com.

Annual Holiday Pottery Sale by LOCALS on Nov. 23-24, louisvillepotters.org

“Home for the Holidays” at the Louisville Orchestra on Nov. 24, louisvilleorchestra.org

“Magic of Christmas Past”: Pipe Organ Concert and Silent Movie Presentation at Louisville Memorial Auditorium on Nov. 26 and 28,
louisvillememorialauditorium.com

“Handel’s Messiah” by the Louisville Orchestra on Nov. 29-30 and Dec. 1, louisvilleorchestra.org

“Amahl and the Night Visitors” by the Kentucky Opera on Nov. 30, kyopera.org

28th Annual Winterfair! at Thomas Jefferson Unitarian Church on Nov. 30-Dec. 1, tjuc.org

“Greetings!” at Bunbury Theatre on Nov. 30-Dec. 16,
bunburytheatre.org

Moscow Ballet’s Great Russian “Nutcracker” at Louisville Memorial Auditorium on Dec. 1, louisvillememorialauditorium.com

ADVERTISEMENT

CJ’s Christmas Art Party (open to the public with art for sale) on Dec. 1, cjfletcher.com

Holiday Victorian Tea at the Conrad-Caldwell House Museum on Dec. 1-2, conradcaldwell.org

Old Louisville Holiday Home Tour on Dec. 1-2, oldlouisville.org

“Tidings of Comfort and Joy: Christmas Postcards and Their Surprising Contexts” at the Conrad-Caldwell House Museum on Dec. 6,
conradcaldwell.org

“Christmastide 1816” at Locust Grove on Dec. 8, locustgrove.org

Candlelight Christmas Tour at the Conrad-Caldwell House Museum on Dec. 13 and 20,
conradcaldwell.org.

“The Best Christmas Pageant Ever!” at StageOne Family Theatre on Dec. 15-22, stageone.org

Christmas Tea at Louisville Memorial Auditorium on Dec. 16, louisvillememorialauditorium.com

Hot news on First Friday: